The Drama Desk Announces Their Dates


Awards season is gearing up as the 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards dates were announced. First up, the Nominations Announcement News Conference on Friday, April 26th at 11 AM at 54 Below. John Lloyd Young (Drama Desk Winner, Jersey Boys) and Jan Maxwell (Drama Desk Winner, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Drama Desk Winner, The Royal Family) will be on hand to announce the lucky and deserving winners to be voted on. Mark your calenders for Sunday, May 19th at 8:00 PM. The Town Hall (123 W. 43rd Street) and TheatreMania will be once again be presenting the awards ceremony. Gretchen Shugart, CEO of, announced that TheatreMania will serve as the managing Executive Producer of Drama Desk Awards. Robert R. Blume and David S. Stone in association with Renee McCurry are also part of the executive producing team. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show.

The Awards show will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Jack Cummings III (co-founder and artistic director of Transport Group).

TheDrama Desk Awards, are presented annually and honor outstanding achievement by professional theater artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. What sets the Drama Desk Awards apart is that they are voted on and bestowed by theater critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theater. Founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater the Drama Desk brings together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and is the only critics’ organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

The 2012-2013 Drama Desk Nominating Committee is composed of: Barbara Siegel, Chairperson ( and freelance); David Kaufman (author and freelance), Samuel L. Leiter (Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center), Martha Wade Steketee (; editor and contributor, Chance Magazine), Adrian Wattenmaker (Theater Faculty, Brooklyn College; Director, School of Creative and Performing Arts), and James Wilson (Professor of Theatre, CUNY; co-editor of Journal of American Drama and Theatre).

“It is gratifying for TheaterMania to again present Drama Desk Awards at New York’s famed Town Hall,” Ms. Shugart said. “Audience members and webcast viewers from the New York community and around the globe are in for a treat as the Awards show celebrates the diversity, creativity, and talent that live theater has to offer.”

Isa Goldberg, president of Drama Desk, added, “Drama Desk Awards, honoring outstanding achievement by professionals working on the New York stage, reflect the knowledge and theatrical experience of our membership.”

The 2012-2013 Board of Directors of the Drama Desk is composed of: Isa Goldberg (; President, Leslie (Hoban) Blake, (Theater Critic/City ARTS-Downtown; Co-Host/TWO on the AISLE, MNN, You Tube) Vice President, Charles Wright, (A+E Networks; Editorial Board, Best Plays Theater Year Book) Treasurer & 2nd Vice President, Richard Ridge, ( Backstage with Richard Ridge) Secretary, Arlene Epstein (South Shore Record/Herald Community Newspapers &;), Elysa Gardner (USA Today critic/reporter; New York Drama Critics Circle), Randy Gener (American Theatre; New York Theater Wire); John Istel (Freelance Editor and Arts Journalist; Managing Editor, Drama Desk website), David Kaufman (Author and Freelance), William Wolf (; Adjunct professor, NYU), Lauren Yarger (Reflections in the Light; .

The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards will be webcast live on .

About The Author

Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. Currently she has a screenplay in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She was the Broadway Informer on the all access cable TV Show “The New Yorkers,” soon to be “The Tourist Channel.” email: [email protected]

Related posts

Jamie DeRoy